The 2019 International Workshop on Safety, Security, and Trust in Intelligent Transportation System (SST-ITS)

In conjunction with IEEE TrustCom 2019

5-8 August 2019 | Novotel Rotorua Lakeside, New Zealand






Autonomous vehicular technology is approaching a level of maturity that gives confidence to many cities around the world to allow autonomous vehicles (AVs) to share the roads with manual vehicles (MVs). AVs and MVs have different capabilities which may result in challenging safety, security, trust, and resilience impacts when mixed together as a part of Intelligent Transportation System. For example, AVs are able to communicate electronically with one another, make fast decisions and associated actuation, and generally act deterministically. In contrast, MVs cannot communicate electronically, are limited by the capabilities and slow reaction of human drivers, and may show some uncertainty and even irrationality in behaviour due to human involvement. However, unlike MVs, the security of computing and communications of AVs can be compromised thereby precluding them from achieving individual or group goals.


This workshop focuses on solutions that leverage techniques and insights from the domains of cyber security, artificial intelligence, edge computing, big data, and transportation engineering to resolve privacy, security, and trust challenges in Intelligent Transportation Systems. Topics of interest include, but are not limited to


           Modelling, control and simulation of traffic for intelligent transportation system

           Advanced persistent threats for intelligent transportation system

           New approaches to safety, security, and trust in intelligent transportation system

           Security architecture, design, implementation and management of intelligent vehicles

           Trustworthy vehicle communications (V2X, V2V, V2I, V2C)

           Functional security, standards, and certification

           Security techniques and protocols for cooperative vehicles

           Data communication security in networked embedded systems

           Security mechanism for automotive motion planning in dynamic environments

           Practical security experiences and testbeds related to intelligent vehicles

           Human factors and human behaviour in intelligent transportation system

           Emergencies and accidents: phenomena, management, and mitigation

           Applications of sensors and big data to intelligent transportation system

           Sustainable transportation system

           Intelligent transportation system in mobility as a service

           Design and evaluation of machine learning models on traffic data

           Anomaly detection and forecasting

           Specifics issues related to public transportation and goods transportation logistics



Paper Submission Guidelines


Submitted papers must not substantially overlap with papers that have been published or that are simultaneously submitted to a journal or a conference with proceedings. Papers must be clearly presented in English. The page limit is 6 pages and authors can purchase up to 2 additional pages. The exact charges for extra pages will be advised after the IEEE proceedings and sponsorship process has been finalized. The paper must not exceed 8 pages, including tables, figures, references and appendixes, in IEEE Computer Society proceedings format with Portable Document Format (.pdf).


Papers will be selected based on their originality, timeliness, significance, relevance, and clarity of presentation. Submission of a paper should be regarded as a commitment that, should the paper be accepted, at least one of the authors will register and attend the conference to present the work. Accepted and presented papers will be included in the IEEE CPS Proceedings.

Paper submission page: https://easychair.org/conferences/?conf=sstits2019


Important Dates


Submission Deadline (Extended): March 28, 2019  March 31, 2019

Authors Notification:                        April 27, 2019

Camera-Ready Manuscript Due:    May 27, 2019



Program Chairs


Krishna Kant, Temple University, USA

Joarder Kamruzzaman, Federation University, Australia

Alireza Jolfaei, Federation University, Australia



Technical Program Committee


Pouya Ostovari, San Jose State University, USA

Xin-Wen Wu, Indiana University of Pennsylvania, USA

Md Zakirul Alam Bhuiyan, Fordham University, USA

Muhammad Usman, University of Surrey, UK

Charles A. Karl, Australian Road Research Board, Australia

Amin Beheshti, Macquarie University, Australia

Iftekhar Ahmad, Edith Cowan University, Australia

Robin Doss, Deakin University, Australia

Raj Gaire, CSIRO, Australia

Biplob Ray, Central Queensland University, Australia

Fakhrul Alam, Massey University, New Zealand

Amin Sakzad, Monash University, Australia

Tasadduq Imam, Central Queensland University, Australia

Jimson Mathew, IIT Patna, India

Mohammad Sayad Haghighi, University of Tehran, Iran

Mohammad Shamim Kaiser, Jahangirnagar University, Bangladesh